RECAP - National Signing Day for Borderland athletes

Wednesday February 7, 2018 is National Signing Day and student-athletes from around the Borderland are making their commitments known to the world.

Below you will find the tweets and social media posts from colleges and universities as well as our tweets from @RomanoCBS4 and @OBrienCBS4 covering this day. Keep checking back for updates!

The following is a list of local Borderland students who have been signed.


  • Tyreese Andruss, WR Montwood: University of Incarnate Word.
  • Andrew Fernandez, QB Montwood: Tyler Junior College (Tyler, TX)
  • Christopher Martinez, DB Montwood: Ottowa University (Arizona)
  • Cedarious Barfield, QB El Dorado: San Diego State
  • Ruben Melendez, K El Dorado: Earlham College (Indiana)
  • Salvador Avila, DB El Dorado: Valley City State University (North Dakota)
  • Tristan Tuialuuluu, OL Del Valle: UTEP
  • Ivan Avina, RB Eastlake: New Mexico State
  • Matthew Zubiate, RB Chapin: UT-Permian Basin
  • Brett Wydra, Andress: Eastern New Mexico University.
  • Diego Lewis, Andress: New Mexico Highlands University.
  • Tre Maestas, Andress: UT-Permian Basin
  • Kevin Averette, Pebble Hills: UT-Permian Basin
  • Jaylien Spires, Pebble Hills: Eastern New Mexico University
  • Cameron Seabrook, Pebble Hills: Eastern New Mexico University
  • Justin Wolfe, Pebble Hills: Clark University
  • Jacob Hernandez, Pebble Hills: Western St. (CO)


  • Alexa Barrera, Andress: New Mexico State
  • Jasmin Porras, Montwood: University of the Southwest in Hobbs, NM
  • Olivia Eagleson, El Dorado: Our Lady of the Lake
  • Brianna Corral, Montwood University of the Southwest in Hobbs, N.M.


•Gabino Cortez, Montwood: El Paso Community College

•Alan Aguero, Montwood: New Mexico Military Institute

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off